Tangled Star

Some time ago we taught Tangled Star at an evening class; having just found the worksheet while tidying up (but not the sample) I decided to give it another go. I made three blocks – one using templates and two foundation-pieced using light-weight Vilene as a foundation for one and Golden Threads paper for the other. My most accurate was the one with templates, but I don’t like foundation-piecing so that probably accounts for it. Surprisingly it was the one using paper that was the least accurate.

pieced block

But what to do with three blocks? It’s nearly November, which is nearly December, which is nearly . . .  and the blocks are red, green and white :

runner

So I quilted it with holly and berries as well. I’ve written up the pattern and included both templates and foundation-piecing sections so you can choose which method to use. I’ve also incuded my quilting drawings. The pattern is available from my Craftsy page at only $6 for all those templates. The block size is 12 inches and the runner measures about 17 x 51 inches. If you wished you could omit the corner setting triangles so the runner had pointed ends and/or you could add a border.

(And why has the picture come out so the runner is not horizontal, the way the picture was taken? And why won’t it turn around??!)

1 thought on “Tangled Star

  1. Pingback: Electric Quilt Picks #12 | chris & barbara quilts

Leave a comment