Autumn is here

The leaves are turning, the wind is blowing, the nights are getting darker earlier and earlier – time to make quilts! This one is called Autumnal Roses – I found the roses print a long time ago and couldn’t resist it. Finally I have got around to using it, having found another few fabrics to go with it.

Autumn Roses b

The pattern is now available on the website, or from Craftsy (soon), and comes with step-by-step photos as well. Sometimes I remember I have a camera! This is a small quilt, wallhanging or large table topper as it measures 42 inches square. It’s quite easy to make and suitable for confident beginners and beyond – you need to be able to turn squares on point by adding triangles, but its very simple, just follow the instructions and photos.

I quilted this one in the ditch – which I often do as I like the patchwork and am not so keen on the quilting. But there were an awful lot of short ditches, very few opportunities for long straight lines and a considerable amount of turning the quilt while under the machine. None of which was difficult, just time consuming. If I make another I will try free-machining instead as being (possibly) less hassle.

I played around in Electric Quilt and, as you can see, with a change of print this could be a design for all seasons.

Autumn Roses Spring

Springtime Daffodils … or

autumn roses summer

Summer Roses … or … even

autumn roses xmas

. . . a Christmas one.

Leave a Reply

